Region Design-Build Awards

Annual Rocky Mountain Region Design-Build Awards

Rocky Mountain Design-Build Award winners set themselves apart in the industry as the nation’s best design-builders. Their projects are diverse, but they share one common element — excellence. Now’s the time to share your design-build project success by submitting your entry into the Annual Rocky Mountain Design-Build Award competition. We invite you to submit your highly successful design-build project(s) for our 2022 Regional Design-Build Awards competition.


To acknowledge and celebrate the most outstanding Design-Build projects in the Rocky Mountain Region by promoting and recognizing the use and efficiency of Design-Build as a project delivery method.


  • Submissions Due Date: March 11th, 2022 - Deadline Extended from February!
  • Awards Announced: April 15th, 2022
  • Award Celebration: The physical award will be presented at the 2022 Rocky Mountain Regional Conference in May.

For submission details, please download the appropriate award prospectus.

Congratulations to our 2020 Region Award Winners

Best Overall Project and Commercial Category

15th and Stout Dual Brand Hotel

Owner: Stonebridge Companies

Designer: The Beck Group

Builder: The Beck Group

The Beck Group provided integrated design-build services for the 22-story 15th & Stout Dual-Brand Hotel in Downtown Denver. The design concept for the project was to stitch together two dissimilar hotel flags, Home2 Suites and Tru by Hilton, in a simple, contemporary, and efficient manner. This 266,000 SF high-rise hotel includes one below-grade level, an at-grade lobby, five levels of integrated parking and 15 levels of hotel guest rooms. The hotel provides 382 total guest rooms, a shared fitness center, and meeting/conferencing space for its guests.

Excellence in Subcontracting

6900 Layton

Owner: Prime West

Sub-Contractor: MTECH Mechanical

Designer: Gensler

Builder: Weitz Construction Group

6900 Layton is a high-rise commercial office/retail building, comprised of a total of 394,375 SF of spec office space over 10 levels, which are located on top of six-level parking structure with an area of approximately 470,000 SF. The building is located in the Denver Tech Center. Prime West Development, LLC, was the developer for the project, and enlisted the same project team as they did for the One Belleview Station project, which included Gensler as the Architect, The Weitz Company as the General Contractor, and MTech Mechanical as the mechanical design-build team for the HVAC and plumbing scopes of work.

Education Category

William J Hybl Sports Medicine and Performance Center

Owner: University of Colorado

Designer(s): HOK and RTA Architects

Builder: JE Dunn Construction Company

The William J. Hybl Sports Medicine and Performance Center is a unique partnership between the University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS) and Penrose - St. Francis Health Services/Centura Health combined forces to develop a building where working together in conjunction with students and the community will provide significant opportunities for years to come. This 104,634 SF project located on the UCCS campus in Colorado Springs, Colorado provides resources for clinicians, educators, athletes, students, and patients. The Center, opened in August 2020, is a destination that brings together sports performance, sports medicine, and academics all in one space.

Region Sponsors